View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
keith
Joined: 19 Sep 2005 Posts: 3355 Location: near Detroit, Michigan, USA
|
Posted: Thu May 11, 2006 6:36 am Post subject: Can you BOLD within CODE? |
|
|
Here is an example. The bold tags are typed by hand:
Code: |
+--------------+
| - - x |
| 46 - [b]246[/b] |
| - - x |
+--------------+
| 46 - 469 |
| - - x |
| - - 29 |
+--------------+
| - - x |
| - - x |
| - - x |
+--------------+
|
Why does this not work? Try again. The bold tags are generated by highlighting the text, then clicking the B button:
Code: |
+--------------+
| - - x |
| 46 - [b]246[/b] |
| - - x |
+--------------+
| 46 - 469 |
| - - x |
| - - 29 |
+--------------+
| - - x |
| - - x |
| - - x |
+--------------+
|
I guess I don't get it. The phBB Help says:
Quote: | All formatting used within tags is retained when you later view it.
|
Really?
One more try:
Code: |
+--------------+
| - - x |
| 46 - [b="246"][/b] |
| - - x |
+--------------+
| 46 - 469 |
| - - x |
| - - 29 |
+--------------+
| - - x |
| - - x |
| - - x |
+--------------+
|
and one more:
+--------------+
| - - x |
| 46 - 246 |
| - - x |
+--------------+
| 46 - 469 |
| - - x |
| - - 29 |
+--------------+
| - - x |
| - - x |
| - - x |
+--------------+
Code: |
+--------------+
| - - x |
| 46 - 246 |
| - - x |
+--------------+
| 46 - 469 |
| - - x |
| - - 29 |
+--------------+
| - - x |
| - - x |
| - - x |
+--------------+
|
Curses!
Keith |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TKiel
Joined: 22 Feb 2006 Posts: 292 Location: Kalamazoo, MI
|
Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 9:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Keith,
I've tried, with no success, using different colors within the code tags (to make colouring chains easier to follow) and thought I was somehow doing something wrong. Coupled with your experience, it seems either we are both doing something wrong or it's just not possible. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
keith
Joined: 19 Sep 2005 Posts: 3355 Location: near Detroit, Michigan, USA
|
Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 11:00 pm Post subject: It's not just me? |
|
|
Tracy,
I agree.
But, I swear I saw a post which had bold within code.
Keith |
|
Back to top |
|
|
keith
Joined: 19 Sep 2005 Posts: 3355 Location: near Detroit, Michigan, USA
|
Posted: Sat May 13, 2006 8:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Actually, I now think I saw the following:
A section enclosed by Quote looks a lot like a section enclosed by Code.
But, if you have a
Quote: |
you can have bold within it.
|
I now believe that anything you put in a Code section comes out exactly as you put it in.
Keith |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Earl
Joined: 30 May 2007 Posts: 677 Location: Victoria, KS
|
Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 10:30 pm Post subject: making a grid |
|
|
Would you please explain to a beginner how to put a grid into a message.
I do not understand the use of the "boxes" e.g. quote, list, etc.
Is there an explanation available for this format.
Thanks
Earl |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nataraj
Joined: 03 Aug 2007 Posts: 1048 Location: near Vienna, Austria
|
Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 5:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
how about this:
+--------------+
| - - x |
| 46 - 246 |
| - - x |
+--------------+
| 46 - 469 |
| - - x |
| - - 29 |
+--------------+
| - - x |
| - - x |
| - - x |
+--------------+
Code: |
<pre>
+--------------+
| - - x |
| 46 - [b]246[/b] |
| - - x |
+--------------+
| 46 - 469 |
| - - x |
| - - 29 |
+--------------+
| - - x |
| - - x |
| - - x |
+--------------+
</pre>
|
Credits for the idea must go to Asellus |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|